johnny*johnny*american*laid
fuck'em if they can't take a joke.

leaves don't change here.


Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
we played pool, we drank, we talked shit, we went home.

and i rode home in the back of his pickup truck with stars pouring down on me and beer on my breath.

what it is to be in texas in the fall of seasons, the fall of now.

i tilted my head back and watched the stars move with us through dark, quiet neighborhood streets. i could hear the small murmur of my friends talking in the cab. my shirt wasn't quite thick enough to keep the chill off my skin. when the truck turned, the stars turned, and i squinted at orion, talking so big. i pulled the hair off my face and waved at the guy in the car next to us at that long red light. i shrugged and smiled at the girl pushing a shopping cart of broken furniture, and she smiled back at me. other than the stars talking shit and the beer talking back, we have a quiet neighborhood that i fall in love with everytime i notice it.

:: 1:33 am ::

now playing ... mix cd from a texas boy

heads :: tales