johnny*johnny*american*laid
fuck'em if they can't take a joke.

5948 magazine street.


Wednesday, Nov. 12, 2003
we parked in front of the shell station. a guy used to work there who carded me every single time i bought cigarettes, even though he knew my name.

we crossed one way, and then the other, but i kept my eyes on the sidewalk, on my feet.

i knew the way from the parking space by heart, i didn't need to look up.

i sat outside our old apartment, and i began to mumble to myself as philosopher wandered about and took pictures because this is the only grave i have to visit right now. that gray door, that one step we called a stoop, and those crooked numbers ... those are the only headstone i know.

i remember, whenever it would storm, we would grab our cigarettes and sit on the bottom stair with the door to the street open, and boy and i would watch the water rise up over the sidewalk as the rain poured down and smoke rose up around us.

i touched the door knob, and i took several deep breaths before giving in to that lump in my throat.

i sat there, at that doorstep, and i smoked a cigarette because this is the only grave i know.

my fingers traced over where it used to have "48" stuck onto the wood, and i ran my hand through my hair.

as i started to cry, i knew that things were going to be different after this. now, i really know he's gone.

:: 2:16 am ::

now playing ... a rough wind

heads :: tales